Old School Love

Standard

The theme on EGL in March was old school lolita, but I didn’t really have time to participate until now. I really love old school – it reminds me of creepy dolls and the whole reason I got into the fashion in the first place! But not all old school is created equal. There are some really ugly things that should never be resurrected today!

I recently saw this dress in closet child. I normally like couch-like gobelin prints, but this one was literally an eyesore! Sometimes the colors are a little too 70s and gross even for my taste!

ImageImage

One thing I could live without are black x white lace mini hats with lolita. I just think they look ridiculous and overplayed. I have seen cute mini hat/canotiers work though so I suppose I don’t hate all mini hats (pic from here).

Image

And some old school is just too reminiscent of what is considered cosplay or cheap lolita today. The material looks thin and the lace is old fashioned so it’s just boring. As an example, this dress is not terrible – I’m sure someone could turn it into a very cool old school coord – but it’s not very interesting to me personally.

Image

A lot of old school is silly and borders on being costumey. I’m split on these kinds of items. Sometimes I love them as in the case of Meta’s Nurse Series, and sometimes they are too ridiculous and I can’t see myself ever wearing them.

Image

One of my first lolita items, and one in the costumey category, was a Meta maid outfit. I thought maid outfits were really cute but they were often made of cheap materials so a Meta maid outfit was perfect in my mind! Since then, maid lolita has definitely died but I still have the outfit since I still find it very cute and you never know when you may suddenly be called to work at a maid cafe.

Image

Image

Another somewhat silly old school dress I own is Meta’s Nun dress! I thought I wouldn’t have many chances to wear this one, but actually since the collar and sleeves are detachable, it’s more versatile than I expected.

Image

Image

Image

A nice thing about old school items is that since they are mostly simple and solid colored, they are easy to modify. I have this black MAM dress that is the most comfortable lolita dress I own, and it was very cheap!

Image

I can wear it casually, like this~

Image

Or add thematic elements – this was for a meet at a planetarium and science museum.

Image

Here I wore it with the bib that goes on AatP’s St. Mephisto OP.

Image

Another old school item I like wearing is this long velvet OP from Victorian Maiden. The empire waist is great for eating big meals!

Image

Here I used the nun collar from my other dress with it.

Image

And here I doubled up on the old school flavor with an old Triple Fortune headdress and nurse series Meta bag.

Image

The final old school items I’ll talk about (although I have a few more) is my Baby Tartan Suit set. I bought the jacket back in 2007 and only got the skirt this year! It was very exciting to finally wear them together. I love the prep school lolita look, especially when the jackets have embroidered crests on them. I never wore a school uniform – maybe if I had I wouldn’t like it so much?

Image

Image

Image

Thank you for reading! How do you feel about old school lolita? What old school items do you feel should stay in the past?

 

4 thoughts on “Old School Love

  1. I have mixed feelings about old school lolita. As you stated above, some items look a bit too costumey for my taste and I sometimes think the amount of lace or the choice of fabric on most old school pieces are questionable.
    But some old school items are great for casual lolita and easier to wear than some prints.

    • I have two conflicting lolita styles that I like, one is clean and elegant modern classic lolita and the other is creepy and ridiculous lolita tropes like nun lolita with mushrooms everywhere! Most of my outfits are a mix of both.

Leave a Reply

