Sailor Moon Shop and Futari no Neko Exhibit

Standard

A few weeks ago I had a nice day to myself. Here are some pics!

All the internet was abuzz with information that there was a Sailor Moon clothing collaboration temporary shop at Isetan Department store in Shinjuku so I had to go check it out too! Of course I was a huge fan of the show in the mid 90s when I was in high school so I love the nostalgia of that time. It’s one of the only things I actually think of fondly from that era, blah high school!

I found my way to the pop up shop and it was full of people taking pics. The shop was decorated really cutely!

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

They had a special Princess Serenity gown for sale in addition to the regular clothing.

Image

But upon closer inspection, it was pretty roughly made and not really much higher tier than an average cosplay. It’s hard to tell from this pic but the material was a shiny satin that looked awful.

Image

And the price~

Image

I liked a lot of the clothing designs, they incorporated the SM theme well without being too costumey, but they were reallllly expensive. Like $140 for a cardigan and $200 for a dress. I guess those are like lolita prices but somehow my brain refuses to accept that for casual clothing.

Image

Image

So ultimately I didn’t buy anything but I was pleasantly surprised about how many of the items I liked! The next stop on my agenda was a small exhibit by Higuchi Yuko. She’s one of my favorite artists – I really love how she combines cute themes with creepy and scientific illustration type of imagery. And there are loads of mushrooms everywhere! She’s contributed art for prints used by Emily Temple Cute and ahcahcum muchacha and now has some art books and a new mook out. The mook is really weird – it’s like a story about two cats where one is an actual cat and one is like some kind of sad creature that wears a cat skin suit? I didn’t read it, just going off the pics.

Image

I found the tiny gallery location in the Omotesando area. They didn’t allow photos so I took some from outside.

Image

Image

Image

It’s always nice to see real works of an artist you usually just see online, especially because Higuchi Yuko’s art is so detailed. There is something a little lost in the scanning process. There wasn’t much left in the exhibit to buy since it was near the end which was a little disappointing. I contemplated buying a mushroomy print they had there for my apartment but it was kind of pricey just for a print so I bought some postcards instead.

Here was my outfit for the day – kind of kawaii vintage maybe. The dress is from Grimoire (one of the only items I’ve actually been moved to purchase from there)

Image

I wore this jacket flair to go along with the “Futari no Neko” (two cats) exhibit motif! I like how one is normal and one’s got the crazy eye.

Image

I passed this funnily-named shop in the area. It just makes me think of a bad night out drinking.

Image

After all that I was pretty pooped and hungry so I stopped at an Afternoon Tea Tea Stand. Afternoon Tea is a popular restaurant and shop in Japan, and they now have these Tea Stand things which seem like a tea version of Starbucks. I thought it was pretty exciting and an interesting way to capture some market share. They’re trying to do both tasty sugary tea frappes and also sell to the healthy crowd so I don’t know if that will work out for them, but I hope they get popular! I love both coffee and tea – I’ll take my sugar in pretty much any liquid. I ordered a tea latte with nuts and a fig tart and plopped down for a while with my e-reader.

Not my pics!

Image

Image

Image

That’s all for that day! I hope you enjoy reading and thank you as always ❤

 

 

10 thoughts on “Sailor Moon Shop and Futari no Neko Exhibit

  1. Malice

    I am so jealous! I would have loved to see that Sailor Moon shop. I know they have been releasing lots of sailor moon makeup recently! Wish I could get my hands on it! I love that cat badge. I am going to look up that mook.

    • I thought you might like the Tea Stand! There are still just 4 locations so Omotesando might be the closest one to you.

      I usually remember to post those art exhibits on TIL but sometimes it slips my mind.

  2. Thanks for the Sailor Moon pop-up store photos! The prices seem pretty steep though! I’m disappointed by the Princess Serenity gown (and Gosh! DAT PRICE!!!).
    Your badges are cute! ❤

    • I’m glad I got to see the shop but I’m not a big enough fan to spend that much. The gown was really lame, which was weird because I thought the quality of the regular clothing was pretty high!

  3. Oh, these illustrations from Higuchi Yuko are totally my thing! I love cats and these drawings show them from a very interesting side. I´m thinking about buying the mook. Thanks for the tip 🙂

Leave a Reply

