Nina’s Marie Antoinette Tea Set

Standard

I would like to tell you about an interesting afternoon tea set I had last weekend. Some friends arranged a little tea party and I tagged along!

It was sponsored(?) by Nina’s Marie Antoinette Tea, a French brand of rose-scented tea, and held at the Grand Hyatt Hotel at Roppongi Hills. The tea is meant to be served on the terrace at the French Kitchen Bar but it was rainy that day so we ate inside. The website says this tea set will be available until November but I wouldn’t trust that. Reservations recommended though they might not be so busy on a rainy day.

The price listed is 2800 yen, 3200 yen if you add rosé wine. Not a bad price for this kind of thing! The total price of the normal tea came to about 3500 yen with tax and tip.

When you enter you get a look at the cute menu. They wouldn’t let us take it home ;_;

IMG_5188

The restaurant is quirky! It had big bronze statues of mushrooms, a frog and this snail!

IMG_5188

The worst part is waiting patiently.

IMG_5188

I don’t have a whole lot of photos from the day. Here are some shots of everything together.

IMG_5188

A shot of my friend’s allergy-friendly plate.

IMG_5188

Now time for review! The savory items (there were 4) were DELICIOUS. That much delicious. I loved them all. The scones were awful. They were hard and tasted like margarine and way too overcooked so they were closer to cookies in texture than scones. Someone fucked up there.

The desserts were of varying quality so I’ll talk about them separately. I liked the special Marie Antoinette cake that they brought around on a separate cake dish. It was very old worldy tasting, almost like a fruit cake or Christmas pudding, with lots of dried fruit inside and spices. I could see how some people might not like it but I enjoyed it.

There was a strawberry macaron (not macaroon, please Grand Hyatt, your menu is paining me) which was really good. The marshmallows were strawberry flavored, I think, but they tasted like chemicals and lipstick, pretty bad. The strawberry short cake was good, though generic. At this point I was kind of done with strawberries to be honest. The cake of the day was mango mousse and was not good either. My friend said it tasted like shrimp. It was like they took the funky rotting tropical fruit flavor only from the mangoes and mixed it with cake. Mmm tropical funk shrimp cake~

For drinks, you could only have the Nina’s tea, which makes sense I guess, and they would only give you hot water refills, not fresh tea. I found this a little stingy, especially because even getting the guy to bring more hot water was a chore.

Service was ok, the guy was slow with some things, but they were very accommodating to my friend with allergies. All staff seem to speak English. So my overall impression of the service is about neutral.

Again I was sad there was almost no chocolate, save for the chips nestled in the scone-cookie-rock, but that’s my personal issue. I think it was a good value in general, but I wouldn’t go again just because of the scone travesty.

And finally, my outfit of the day! I bought a new otome dress recently from Leur Getter so I wanted to wear it! I really love vintage illustrations so this dress was perfect to me. The flowers look like hydrangea from far away but I believe they are violets.

IMG_5188

THIS JUST IN: Vintage clip art located! They totally just lifted this shit and spruced it up in Photoshop, wow.

IMG_5188

Thank you for reading! I hope you are having a kawaii rainy season! 😛

12 thoughts on “Nina’s Marie Antoinette Tea Set

  1. Oh dear, sorry about the scones! What made you decide to buy the dress? I ask as a fellow CC enthusiast haha. It really looks lovely on you and it seems easy to wear. It’s nice for this season even if the print isn’t truly hydrangeas!

  2. Scones! The bane of afternoon teas in Japan I think.
    I’ve been to the Grand Hyatt but not for afternoon tea. Their pastry shop, Fiorentina is amazing so I’m surprised to read some of the sweet items were so shitty. Maybe the afternoon tea pastries are handled by a different restaurant?
    Also, we’ve talked about this before but chocolate in summer in Japan – forget about it. You know I hate it as well but Japanese pastry chefs all sorta behave like drones controled by a robotic entity that determines what’s on strictly dependent on absolute values like what day of the year it is.
    Hot water refills only does seem very stingy! I think I’ve fallen out of love with afternoon tea in general. While I love the concept the realizations always fall short & I end up dissatisfied.

    • Scones are so easy to make though! Disappointing :/

      I will keep up my fight for chocolate! Convention be damned! There is way too much strawberry love in Japan.

      I know that afternoon tea on the whole is probably much worse than ordering plates individually, but I just like the way the presentation and how fun it is. Eventually I’ll get over it I think.

      • It can be a bit tricky to make REALLY good 1s but yeah, the basics are way easy!
        If you want more chocolate you should complain at every single store you go to. That’s my policy anyhow but it doesn’t seem to have an effect.
        Yeah strawberries tell me about it. & the worst thing is that 99% of the strawberries here aren’t even good.
        Like I said, I totally dig the afternoon tea concept. But I can only take so much disappointment I think. Have you been to the Imperial Hotel’s? It looks the best out of the lot that’s on my to do list but that doesn’t mean it actually looks good. sigh

      • OK, they’ll be like “some gaijin said she wants chocolate LOL”

        No I haven’t been! I’ll have to check it out. I really wanted to try the new Aman Resorts one but they only do it on weekdays, as far as I know.

  3. I read this from facebook but didnt comment for some reason – sorry!!! The tea looked really promising but sad to hear it didnt live up to expectations. I really like the dress too – the clip art is super suspicious though!!! Hmm…. tut tut. x

  4. Ahhhh, that snail is to die for! Sorry to hear about the scones, though. I agree, it’s kind of hard to find an afternoon tea with nice scones in Tokyo. Have you tried the Shangri-la Hotel? They had the nicest scones I’ve found there so far.

  5. Joana

    Hello A! I think you’ll be surprised to know i have only tried scones once at a local hotel. I have no idea what a good scone is!
    This sort of service seems amazing though, i think I want to try something like this in august when i visit, any idea of which places in Osaka, Nara, or even kyoto would be the best?
    I absolutely love that dress, the colors are beautiful!

Leave a Reply

